This is my review for Whitefern by V.C. Andrews. It is actually written by ghost writer Andrew Neiderman. I received the Advanced Reader’s Copy from Netgalley to review. The novel will be released on July 26, 2016.

The first thing I want to say is that I’m grateful to Netgalley for allowing me an advanced copy of the novel before it is released.

The second thing I want to say before I give my review is why are books still being published with V.C. Andrews name on them? I read somewhere that her family hired him to continue but I just don’t understand it. Most of the books are new ideas and not something that was started by Andrews herself. I just think that he should release them under his own name and then just have it somewhere that he is inspired by her or something. I feel like it takes away from the work that she actually did and it’s just a way to make money off her name. I also feel like their kind of false advertising because the cover says “New York Times Best Selling Author of Flowers In The Attic”. I personally look at that as if you liked that book, you’ll like this book because it was written by her. It might just be my stupid way of thinking but that’s what it’s like for me.

So, as for the review, the novel was good. I would have liked it a lot better if it had been a stand alone book with new characters and storyline. I feel like there were too many changes between books. Some of the characters for me were almost unrecognizable. I don’t like what he did with Arden’s character and I didn’t like some of Sylvia’s storyline. It might have worked if there was a book before this one so that the change was more gradual instead of just having it there from the beginning, and then he never explains what brought the change about so it was almost like reading about two different characters in my opinion.

Some of the plot was really predictable and I wasn’t that shocked. I wish it was a little more like the first novel in the way of secrets being revealed and kind of shocking you and not really seeing something coming. There were a few things that I was a little surprised about and kind of wondered why he went in the direction that he did. I didn’t like the end at all. I started to suspect toward the end that the plot was going the way it did but I was hoping that I was going to be shocked and there was going to be this big plot twist but there wasn’t.

I gave Whitefern a 3.5 out of 5 stars. If it had been a novel on its own with different characters and a different back story, I would have loved it, but being the sequel to a book that I really enjoyed, I was left feeling really disappointed. As for recommending it to people, I say go for it. It was a good novel just not a good sequel if that makes any sense. This is only my opinion, other readers may feel like it was an amazing sequel. By all means, read it and draw your own conclusions and definitely let me know what you think.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

