Wildflower Book Review

This is my book review for Wildflower by Drew Barrymore.

This book was a surprise to me because I thought that it was an autobiography. Opening it up and reading her introduction, you learn that they are actually short stories of things that happened during her life that she hasn’t really shared openly before but that she felt ready to share.

I really enjoyed this book. It made me laugh and it made me cry. It made me love her even more than I already did.

She wrote about getting her first apartment at 14 and having to learn to do things as simple as laundry, she wrote about getting her first dog, she wrote about the birth of both of her daughters and she wrote about her fathers death.

She also wrote about some of her famous friends like Adam Sandler, Cameron Diaz and Steven Spielberg. She wrote about her experience with E.T. and she shared stories about her up and down relationship with her mother.

Each story was something personal and some of them really pulled at your heart. She writes a story about when she lost her dogs and it was just heart breaking. Her story about going to Africa was so eye opening and emotional. I loved the story that she wrote about her in-laws. I think that was my favorite one because it really showed how normal she is.

Although I was a bit surprised when I opened this book to read an autobiography and got short stories instead, I really did love this book. It was different from other celebrity books that I’ve and it was a surprisingly good change for me. If you love celebrity books or Drew Barrymore this is definitely a must read. Even if you don’t like those two things, I recommend this book anyway because it’s just a funny, sad, emotional and real book. If nothing else it’s a great read. This was a 5 out of 5 for me.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

