The Lunar Chronicles Review (Spoiler Free)

This is my review for The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. For this review, I’m just going to summarize each book and then give my thoughts because I feel like if I talk too much about any of the books after the first one I might spoil them too much.

Cinder
This is the first book and it’s loosely based on Cinderella. Cinder is a teenage cyborg and great mechanic. She is hated by her stepmother and is blamed for her stepsister’s illness. She meets Prince Kai and then finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle where she needs to learn about her past in order to save the future.

Scarlet

This is the second book and it’s loosely based on Little Red Riding Hood. Scarlet lives in France on a farm with her grandmother. When her grandmother ends up missing, Scarlet meets Wolf, who may know something about her whereabouts. During their travels, Scarlet learns some dangerous secrets her grandmother has been keeping and has to raise against time to try to save her.

Cress

This is the third book and is loosely based on Rapunzel. Cress has been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood. During the rescue of Cress, things go awry and although she finally has her freedom, it comes at a price.

Winter

This is the fourth and final book and is loosely based on Snow White. Winter is the Princess on Luna and the step daughter of Queen Levana. Winter is loved by the Lunar people and because of this her step mother wants her dead. She despises her Queen Levana and has been undermining her wishes for years but does she have the power to launch a revolution and rid her of her step mother for good?

Thoughts:

I loved this series. I originally thought that each book was a stand alone and was a little disappointed when the first book ended with a small cliff hanger but each book continues on, so Cinder is in Scarlet and Cinder and Scarlet are in Cress and so on. I loved how Marissa Meyer gave each character her own story as well as bringing all of the characters together in an even bigger story. I loved the friendships that were formed and the romantic relationships that were formed. I really enjoyed seeing these characters evolve and become stronger versions of themselves throughout the books. I think my favorite part was that although these were all retellings of fairy tales, they were different and had their own stories but also had bits and pieces from the original fairy tales as well.

There are so many things about this series that I love but I can’t get into because the books will be spoiled so I think that I’m going to do another blog post talking about that stuff and just put a spoiler warning so that people won’t read it that haven’t yet read or finished the series. I gave all the books a 5 out of 5 stars. This is definitely a highly recommended series.

Keep reading…Lola

 

Leave a Reply

