Best Halloween/October Reads

I love Halloween. I love horror. I love Books.

These are some of my picks for good authors and books to read in the month of October. I love reading horror, mystery, thriller and suspense during October because of course that’s when Halloween is, but I will read them any other month as well!

  1. Virtue Falls by Christina Dodd. This is a new book that I got in the September BookCase.Club box. It’s about a women who returns home to find that her father, who has been in jail for murdering her mother twenty-three years prior, is innocent. This novel seems like it’s full of mystery and suspense and I think it would be the perfect October read.
  2. The Killing Game by Iris Johansen. I saw the movie adaptation and loved it so I am dying to crack this baby open. It’s about a woman who is a forensic sculptor and whose own daughter was abducted and murdered ten years prior. She risks her life after receiving clues from her daughter’s murderer.
  3. Tribute by Nora Roberts. I also saw this movie and loved it so I’m sure I will love the book even more. It’s about a former child star who moves into her grandmothers abandoned farmhouse and while fixing it up comes across some unsigned letters in the attic that are clues to her grandmothers past, one that may have been violent.
  4. The Da Vinci Deception by Thomas Swan is about the hunt for an art forger whose attempts to counterfeit Leonardo Da Vinci’s work have the art world astonished.
  5. Learning To Swim By Sara J. Henry is a novel that I have read before and absolutely loved. It’s about a women who is crossing Lake Champlain on a ferry and sees a young boy being tossed overboard on another ferry and jumps into the water to save him. She learns his name but there are no clues that anyone is looking for him.
  6. The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon  & It by Stephen King. I think any Stephen King book is a great read for Halloween time.
  7. Guilty Pleasures & The Laughing Corpse by Laurell K. Hamilton. These are the first two books in the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series. I like this series and it’s perfect for October because it has all kinds of supernatural creatures from vampires and werewolves to zombies.

There are a ton more but these are just the ones that pop into my head and that I have currently on my bookshelf. What’s your favorite horror/mystery/thriller novel?

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

