How To Get Out Of A Reading Slump

These are some ideas of how to help you if you are in a reading slump. Even the best of us get to a point where we just do not want to pick up a book and these are some of the things that I find helpful. These are not the only things to do and they may or may not work for you, but they are things that have helped me in the past when I have been suffering from a reading slump.

  1. Do not force yourself to read. If you try to force your way through a book you are just going to make your slump worse and you might even hate the book that you are reading.
  2. Watch a TV show or movie. Sometimes certain storylines get me in the mood for certain books. Also if you watch a TV show or movie based on a book and you really like it, you may want to pick the book up as well.
  3. Go online. Talk to other readers. Find out who is also having a slump or what other people do to get themselves out of one.
  4. Check out Goodreads or YouTube to see what other people are reading or are interested in reading, you might find something that interests you too.
  5. Surround yourself with books. Go to a bookstore or library. Peruse book sections that interest you to see if anything catches your eye.
  6. Turn off your phone. I find that sometimes when I’m reading I get more done if I don’t have my phone to distract me. It also gives me a reason to do something other than play on my phone.
  7. Read on the go. Leave your house and go to the park or the beach. If you commute to work or school, think about carpooling or public transportation so that you can read to and from.
  8. Look at your bookshelf to see if anything jumps out at you. Maybe you will see something that you are in the mood to read at that moment.
  9. Reread a book that you love. If you know that you are going to enjoy the book then you might be more excited to read.
  10. Pick up a book that you have been wanting to read for a while and try to read that.
  11. Read a book that isn’t very long. A quick read is sometimes exactly what I need to get me out of a reading slump. If you try to start with a monster book it might have the opposite effect.
  12. Choose a fun and light read. Don’t try to read heavy or sad material.

Here are a few books that have helped me in the past to get out of a reading slump…

The Vampire Kisses series by Ellen Schreiber, The Vampire Journals series by Morgan Rice, The Wrecked duology by Elle Casey and The Hazards series by Alyssa Rose Ivy. These are all short and quick reads. I really enjoyed them all. Poetry and Graphic Novels are also fun alternatives to books. I think that Young Adult books are also a good choice because I find that most of them are quick reads.

Those are my ideas of how to get out of a reading slump. Again, they may not work for you, but they have worked for me in the past so I’m hoping that at least one of them will be able to help someone.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

