October Wrap Up

October was a pretty good reading month for me considering I didn’t start reading until the 6th or 7th. The last book I read in September was The Last Leaves Falling and it was one of those books that I just couldn’t stop thinking about so it was hard for me to switch gears and start something new. These are the books that I did read and I read all of the ones on my TBR except for Tribute by Nora Roberts. For some reason toward the end of the month I just couldn’t read it. It wasn’t because the book wasn’t good, I only got 6 pages in, I think I just read so many mystery/thrillers that I was just not into it at the end of the month.

20170124_144222-1

Cujo by Stephen King ~ I really enjoyed this but I was disappointed with the ending. I have seen the movie a bunch of times but the ending is different so I was actually shocked by the ending of the novel. I gave Cujo 3 stars on Goodreads.

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon by Stephen King ~ I am really starting to enjoy Stephen King as an author and this book is actually my favorite out of the three that I have read so far, including Carrie. I initially thought that it was going to be boring because how good is a book about a 9-year-old lost in the woods alone?, but I was pleasantly surprised. I gave this novel 5 stars.

Virtue Falls by Christina Dodd ~ I really liked this murder mystery. I read this book pretty quickly because I had a hard time putting it down. I received this book in a BookCase.Club box. It’s about a woman who returns home to get to know her ailing father, who has been in prison for 23 years for the murder of her mother, only to find out that he didn’t commit the murder and now this person is after her. I gave this 5 stars as well.

The Killing Game by Iris Johansen ~ I loved the movie when I watched it and the book is ten times better! I love the whole idea of a forensic sculptor, I think it’s so amazing what they can do. Of course I knew who the murderer was because I had seen the movie, but I think that had I not, I would have been surprised by the killers identity. 5 stars for this read.

I also read The Mind Thieves, The Mind Games and The  Mind Keepers by Lori Brighton. These are the second, third and fourth books in the Mind Readers series. It’s a young adult series about a teenage girl who can read minds. She meets a boy who can also read minds and goes away with him to train with other mind readers and throughout the series she learns family secrets and that not everyone wants mind readers to exist. This was a fun and quick series that I definitely recommend.  I gave each of these novels 5 stars as well.

Those are the books I read in October. Hello November!

Keep reading…Lola

 

Leave a Reply

