The Twilight Wife Spoiler Free Review (ARC)

The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner is psychological suspense novel. The book is scheduled for release on December 27, 2016. I received this ARC from Netgalley for review.

The novel opens with Kyra explaining that she is a thirty-four year old marine biologist recovering from a head injury.

Three months prior she fractured her skull in a diving accident. She lives on Mystic Island in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Jacob. She doesn’t remember the last four years of her life and her husband has to tell her numerous times, the things they had done together and what her life was like before the accident.

Throughout the novel she has a recurring dream that she and Jacob were not the only two there when the accident occurred, as she keeps seeing a man she thinks is drowning. Jacob tells her that they were alone that day and she’s just having a bad dream. She has a friend Linny who she corresponds with via email and a few friends on the Island but everything she knows are things that are told to her because she can’t remember.

Toward the end of the novel, Kyra starts to remember things that make her believe that the dream she has been having isn’t a dream at all but something that actually happened. She sets off to uncover her past and ends up finding that the truth may be terrifying and not at all what she expected to find.

I loved this novel. I liked Kyra and Jacob and their relationship. I felt like he was the loving husband trying to help his wife through a difficult time. He slept in a separate room to make her more comfortable, he cooked, he always told her about their life before the accident, he was patient and kind. I really found myself falling in love with this marriage. Of course this only lasted through half of the book and like any other suspense novel, I started to wonder if everything was as it seemed.

I enjoyed the mystery of the novel and how it all played out. I do have to say that I was completely taken by surprise at the end. I thought it was going to play out one way and then when everything was revealed it wasn’t at all what I thought it was going to be. This is the first novel that I have read by A.J. Banner but now I would like to pick up another.

I gave the novel 5 stars on Goodreads and would recommend it to everyone who loves a good suspense novel.

Keep reading…Lola

A big thank you to Netgalley for allowing me to review this Arc.

Leave a Reply

