This is the hardest blog that I have had to write this year. It was hard choosing the best books this year and it was even harder to narrow them down to 16 but I eventually did it. Most of these did not come out this year but they are books that I read this year. They are in no particular order because I also couldn’t decide on that either! I chose YA as well as adult reads and I gave all of them 5 stars on Goodreads.


The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner is an adult mystery novel that came out in December 2016 and it’s about a woman who cannot remember the last couple years of her life after a diving accident.
*Review on my blog

EditShutter Island by Dennis Lehane is an adult thriller about a detective who is investigating the disappearance of a patient from a mental hospital.

*Review on my blog

EditWrecked by Elle Casey is a YA novel about four teenagers who end up stranded on an island. There is also a sequel called Reckless that is just as good.

*Review of the duology on my blog

EditThe Hazards Of Skinny Dipping by Alyssa Rose Ivy is the first of five adult novels in The Hazards series. They basically all follow a college girl as she embarks on a romance and a lot of the characters pop up throughout the series.

EditIn A Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware is an adult thriller about a group of people who come together to celebrate a “hen” and then some weird things begin to happen.

*Review coming up in the next couple weeks

EditAt First Sight by Nicholas Sparks is the second book in the True Believer duology. This book was such a tear jerker and I loved it.

*Review up on my blog

Learning To Swim by Sara J. Henry is an amazing novel about a woman thrown into a mystery when she witnesses a little boy being thrown from the back of a ferry.

My Sweet Audrina by V.C. Andrews is a novel about a teenage girl who grows up in solitude never really knowing what day or year it is and living in the shadow of her older sister who died. The ending was a total shocker to me!

EditThe Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is a series of fairytale retellings of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White.

*Review on my blog

EditThe Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell is a YA novel about a teenage boy named Soar who is suffering from ALS.

*Review on my blog

EditWildflower by Alecia Whitaker is a YA novel about a girl who is discovered by a music manager when she has to take over lead vocals one night when her family band performs. There are two other books in this trilogy that I have not read yet but I will be soon.

EditThe Movie Version by Emma Wunsch is an amazing YA novel that shows the effects of mental illness on not only the suffering individual but also on their family and friends.

*Review on my blog

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey is the first of three novels in a trilogy. It’s about these alien like people who invade earth and cause catastrophe everywhere. Their main goal is basically to rid the earth of humans. I have read the first two and really enjoyed them and look forward to reading the final book sometime in the new year. There was also a movie made of the first film.

EditRafa by Rafael Nadal and John Carlin is an autobiography of tennis player Rafael Nadal. It’s told from Rafa’s view as well as John Carlin interviewing family, friends and other players.

*Review on my blog

EditSisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares is an adult novel set ten years after The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants YA books end. It continues the story of Tibby, Lena, Bridgit and Carmen as they navigate life as twenty somethings.

EditThe Mind Readers by Lori Brighton is a YA series about a teenage girl who has the power to read minds and one day meets someone else who has the same gift. He tells her that there are others like them and that there are also people who are looking for them in order to hurt them. She has to decide if she wants to leave her grandmother to learn more about her powers or stay and pretend that they don’t exist.

Those are my top 16 books that I read in 2016. I can’t believe that 2016 is almost over! I had a really good reading year and hope that 2017 will be just as great!

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

