The Woman In Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware is a mystery thriller about a travel journalist who believes she has witnessed a murder on the maiden voyage of a cruise ship.

The novel starts out with Lo waking up after a night of drinking to find that a man is in her flat robbing her. She is obviously shaken up and goes to stay at her boyfriends apartment before heading off on a week long cruise for work.

On the ship, Lo’s cabin is number 9, she borrows some mascara from a woman in the cabin next door, cabin 10 and then goes for dinner where she has quite a bit to drink. Later that night she wakes up thinking that she heard a woman scream. She believes that she hears the sound of something hitting the water and when she looks over her balcony, she sees what she thinks is a hand going under the water.

The next morning she is told that all passengers are accounted for and that there was nobody in cabin 10. Lo’s ex boyfriend Ben is also on the trip and they start to piece together what could have happened since nobody seems to believe her, especially after finding out that she is on medication for anxiety/depression and frequently drinking, also the fact that she was robbed right before boarding the ship.

I’ve read some mixed reviews for this book and a lot of people didn’t seem to like it but I really did. I loved the suspense and mystery. I enjoyed the parts with Lo’s back story and how it sometimes made me question her as a narrator. I loved the twists and turns towards the end. At one point I would think I had it figured out and then another twist and it turned into something else entirely. I also loved the ending. It wasn’t so much a cliffhanger but it definitely made me want more. And I did not see it coming.

The one thing that I didn’t really care for were the emails and newspaper articles throughout the chapters. I think that they gave away too much of what was going to happen later on with Lo. I feel like they would have been better at the end of the chapters after the things took place rather than at the beginning or end of a previous chapter before it happens.

I’m really beginning to enjoy Ruth Ware as an author and I’m looking forward to reading other books by her in the future. I gave The Woman In Cabin 10 5 stars on Goodreads and I highly recommend it.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

