The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena is a mystery thriller about a couple who go to a dinner party at the house next door and leave their baby alone when their sitter falls through at the last minute. They bring the baby monitor with them and take turns going back home to check on her every half hour, but when they return home at the end of the night their front door is open and their baby daughter is gone from her crib.

I’m going to start with the issues I had with the book. First, who would leave their infant child alone to go to a dinner party? Yes they were right next door and yes they were checking on her and brought the monitor, but why??? I know they give their reasons in the book but it’s just something that I can’t wrap my head around. The only other issue I had was with the ending. It’s not really a bad thing, it just left off on a sort of cliffhanger and made me want more!

That being said I really enjoyed this book a lot. I loved the mystery and suspense. I kept thinking that I had it figured out and then the author threw another curveball and kept me guessing. I was really shocked by how it all ended and was so glad that I didn’t predict it early on like I thought I did. I also surprisingly liked all the characters. The good and the bad, besides everyone loves a good villain.

This novel was such a fast paced read for me and I had a hard time putting it down. I love when a book has me so hooked that I can’t wait to see what happens next. I gave The Couple Next Door 5 stars on Goodreads and I recommend anyone who likes mysteries or thrillers to read this book.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

