Geekerella Spoiler Free Review

Geekerella by Ashley Poston is a YA Cinderella retelling set in the modern world.

I received an ARC of this from Netgalley and then mixed it up with another book so I didn’t read it before it came out but I read it last month and I really enjoyed it.

This novel had all the Cinderella vibes, the evil step mother, the two step sisters, the ball where she meets her prince, the curfew, even the pumpkin dequised as a food truck! 

There were also some modern day twists on the classic as well. The prince, Darien is an actor who has taken on the lead roll of a film based on a popular TV show (Starfield) from back in the day. Elle works on a food truck and hopes to win a cosplay contest so she can get an invitation to ExcelsiCon and meet the actor playing Federation Prince Carmindor.

I loved the Starfield fandom within the book. Elle is a die hard fan of the show that she watched with her father when she was younger. Now as a teenager she even has a blog dedicated to the fandom. I also thought it was cool that her step sisters had a vlog channel. I loved how the author brought modern technology into it. I enjoyed the romance in the story as well, even though it was a bit predictable. I found myself laughing out loud during some of the texting conversations Elle had with Carmindor. I also really liked the friendship that developed between Elle and Sage. It was fun to see what they became after how they started out.

I hated Darien’s father. He was more interested in making money then he was about his  sons’ feelings. I also really hated Darien’s friend, I think his name might have been Scott but I just did not care for him and didn’t even memorize his name. 

The writing was very well done and I loved how everything came together in the end. I only wish we had a little more of the romance. 

I gave Geekerella 4 stars on Goodreads and really think everyone should check it out.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

