If The Creek Don’t Rise Spoiler Free Review (ARC)

If The Creek Don’t Rise by Leah Weiss is a novel that is being released on August 8, 2017. I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The story is told from multiple perspectives. There is the preacher Eli, his sister Prudence, pregnant teenager Sadie, the local witch named Birdie, the new school teacher, Sadie’s husband Roy and Roy’s friend Billy.

The novel follows Sadie, she is 17 and pregnant and has been married to Roy for fifteen days. Since they have been married, Roy has been beating her regularly. The town knows but they just look the other way. She loves Loretta Lynn and carries around a magazine with her on the cover but she can’t read. The new teacher in town tells her that she’ll help her learn to read and Sadie begins to wonder if there’s more to life than being Roy’s wife. Each new perspective has their own story but Sadie weaves into each one. The town witch wants to help her get rid of Roy, the teacher wants her to learn to read so she has more options in life and Roy’s friend Billy has always had a crush on her and wants to be with her himself. 

I thought that I would hate the book because of all the different perspectives but it kind of read like short stories that all came together in the end. At least that’s what it was like for me. There were certain perspectives I liked more than others but I was expecting that.

I really enjoyed the characters. I thought they were all realistic. They could be your next door neighbor. I loved Birdie and hated Roy. 

I thought the ending was a little abrupt and I would have liked to see it unfold a little bit more. I also would have loved to know what Sadie would be doing a few years later.

The novel reminded me of Where The Heart Is by Billie Letts at some points. The pregnant teenager, the loser boyfriend, the woman who wants to help, etc. 

I really enjoyed this novel, a lot more than I thought I would. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. Definitely look it up and check it out if it’s the kind of book you enjoy.

Keep reading…Lola


Leave a Reply

