Second Star by Alyssa B. Sheinmel is a YA retelling of Peter Pan.

The book follows Wendy Darling as she looks for her brothers John and Michael, who are presumed dead after their beat up surf boards are found by rough water. Wendy doesn’t believe that they are dead so she spends the summer going to beaches where the surfing is good hoping that her brothers will be at one of them. She meets and befriends Pete and ends up going to spend several weeks with him and his friends up at their abandoned house on the cliff. She also meets Jas, the bad boy from the other side of the beach. After returning home, Wendy begins to realize that maybe all is not as it seems.

I enjoyed all the Peter Pan elements. The Darlings, Wendy, John and Michael, even Nan the dog. Pete and the lost boys, as well as Belle. Jas as Hook, and even that the author incorporated Pixie Dust into the mix. 

There were some aspects that I thought were pretty risky for a Peter Pan retelling. The fact that Jas is a drug dealer who deals Dust. The price to enter one of his parties is to take some of the Dust. Even though I thought it was a little dark for a YA book, I also think it worked for the overall story. 

I loved how Belle was sort of a brat and showed jealousy towards Wendy and Pete. That’s how Tinker bell should behave! I enjoyed the love triangle between Pete, Wendy and Jas and I actually had a hard time choosing who I was rooting for, which I liked. I thought that the whole event surrounding Wendy’s brothers turned out amazing. There were things that I predicted and others that I was completely surprised by.

I’m a little unsure of how I feel about the ending. On one hand I thought it was perfect and such a cool way to end the story but then at the same time I felt a little let down. I still had some questions and it felt like it was a little bit of a cliffhanger.

For the most part, I really enjoyed Second Star. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads and recommend it to anyone who loves Peter Pan and retellings so definitely check it out.

Keep reading…Lola

Leave a Reply

